Weather Forecast


Country Splash adds to concert event lineup

Apple River Country Splash and Sing Minnesota have announced that the winner of the Sing Minnesota Karaoke contest, Marcus Hanson, of Delano, Minn., will also perform on the Country Splash Main Stage.

Hanson will be part of the opening act with other superstar performers that will hit the stage June 18, 19 and 20 at Apple River Country Splash Festival in Somerset.

This is the second year that Float-Rite will host the only major country music festival of the summer that is within just minutes of the Twin Cities Metro area, and the first year to provide this type of exposure to the winner of a karaoke contest.

Hanson was among the nearly 5,000 aspiring karaoke singers who signed up to win the grand prize of $10,000 cash at more than 30 participating venues throughout the Twin Cities and suburbs.

On Saturday, May 16, Hanson found himself among 20 finalists in front of a panel of judges at the Sing Minnesota Finale at the Medina Entertainment Center. After all of the judges deliberated, Hanson was declared the winner for his performance of Keith Anderson's Double XL.

For his encore, he quickly dialed his cell phone, and laid it on the stage. He wanted to phone his wife, Carmen who was still in the hospital after the birth of their son Leo who was born less than 24 hours before the finale, to serenade them with a song.

In a telephone interview with Country Splash, Hanson said he is honored to perform on the same stage as multi-platinum, Grammy Award winners, and Lyric Street Recording Artists Rascal Flatts, and four- time ACM Entertainer of the Year and five time CMA Award winner Kenny Chesney. Officials from Country Splash have announced that Hanson will be introduced by former talent show winner of "Houston's Best Country Singer" and current Cold River Records recording artist and song writer Katie Armiger.

Hanson will then perform his winning song with Armiger's band.

Other performers at Country Splash 2009 are Darius Rucker, SHeDaisy, Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Jason Michael Carroll.

For more information about Country Splash 2009, listen to K102 (102.1 FM), visit, or call the Country Splash Hotline at 877-FLOAT-08.