Weather Forecast


Nominations now open for Citizen of the Year

It’s time again to submit nominations for the New Richmond Area Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year.

“Citizen of the Year is somebody within our community who goes above and beyond the call of duty,” said Lisa Woletz, executive director at the chamber. “It’s somebody who has assisted in an improvement or a program that offers significant value to the New Richmond community itself. And it’s something that doesn’t pertain to their job requirements. It’s something they do because it’s the nature of the person they are.”

The chamber has been recognizing a Citizen of the Year for at least 20 years, according to Woletz, and there’s no provision that says someone can’t be recognized more than once.

Nominees must reside in or work at a business within the New Richmond Area. Individuals need not be chamber members to earn the award.

To nominate an individual, go to and fill out the online form with your name, your email address, the name of the person you’re nominating, the business or organization the individual works at and an explanation of why you are nominating the individual.

The nomination deadline is Friday, Nov. 1.

“A list of nominees will be compiled and voting will open on Wednesday, Nov. 6, and run until Wednesday, Nov. 20,” Woletz said.

Members of the public can vote once online at the same URL as the nomination form: sections.

The 2013 Citizen of the Year will be announced at the chamber’s Business After Five event at Champs Sports Bar & Grill starting at 5 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 2.

The winner will be honored at the ceremony and will receive an engraved award. In addition, the Citizen of the Year will be the chamber’s honored guest at its annual meeting and gala in January and serve as the grand marshal of the 2014 Fun Fest Parade in July.

Past Citizens of the Year

  • 1992: Bob Heebink
  • 1993: Curt Anderson
  • 1994: Irv & Mary Sather
  • 1995: Mayor Billy Smith
  • 1996: Don & Alice Michels
  • 1997: Bob Krueger
  • 1998: Jerry Frey
  • 1999: John Soderberg
  • 2000: Barbara Polfus
  • 2001: Helen Demulling
  • 2002: Jim Counter
  • 2003: Bob Peterson
  • 2004: Bob Peirson
  • 2005: Bill Buell
  • 2006: Bill Derrick
  • 2007: Tim O’Brien
  • 2008: Dennis Horner
  • 2009: Mayor David Schnitlzer
  • 2010: Paul Mayer
  • 2011: Jim Zajkowski
  • 2012: Vernon Conrad
Micheal Foley
Micheal Foley worked at RiverTown Multimedia from July 2013 to June 2015 as editor at the New Richmond News. 
(715) 243-7767 x241