Weather Forecast


No candidates surface for area County Board seats

Two New Richmond area members of the St. Croix County Board didn't file for re-election, and no other candidates met the deadlines for filing for those seats.

The general election for the 31 seats on the County Board will be held April 1.

Neither Chuck Mehls, 1813 Oak Ridge Circle, nor Tom Dowd, 1483 County Road K, filed for election, leaving their District 9 and District 8 seats open.

In another New Richmond area district, incumbent Richard King, 1214 County Road H, is being challenged by John N. Heintz, 905 County Road H.

In District 11, Frederick Horne, 215 N. Third St., is a candidate for the seat now held by Wallace Habhegger, 142 N. Arch Ave., who is not seeking re-election.

These area incumbents are unopposed in their bids for re-election; John M. Mortensen, 324 Meridian Drive, District 12; Esther Scott Wentz, 105 S. Montana Ave., District 13; and Eugene Ruetz, 1107 100th St., District 14.

The only primary for any of the County Board seats will be in District 30, which represents the Village of Somerset and Ward 1 of the Town of Somerset.

In that district, incumbent Stan Krueger is being challenged by Lauren Stephens, 427 Meadow Lane, Somerset, and Shane M. Demulling, 1742 85th St., New Richmond.

In the rest of the county there are two races and one other district has no registered candidate:

--In District 17 (Ward 1 of the City of River Falls, Ward 2 of the Town of Kinnickinnic and Wards 1, 6 and 7 of the Town of Troy), incumbent Chuck Struemke is being challenged by former Veterans Service Officer Lorin Sather.

--In District 27 (Wards 7-10 of the City of Hudson), incumbent Ron Raymond is being challenged by Kenneth Kolbe.

--There is no candidate in District 2, which is now represented by Brian Hurtgen. This district includes Glenwood City, the Town of Glenwood and Ward 2 of the Town of Emerald.