Weather Forecast


New Richmond City Council, Sept. 30, 2008

City Council Proceedings

City of New Richmond

Mayor: David Schnitzler City Clerk: Joseph D. Bjelland

Aldermanic Districts

District 1: Frederick Horne

District 2: James Johnston

District 3: Roberta Dale-Wozniak

District 4: Jane Hansen

District 5: Ronald Volkert

District 6: James Zajkowski

special COUNCIL MEETING, September 30, 2008 6:00 P.M.

Mayor Schnitzler opened the meeting by announcing that this was an open meeting of the Common Council. Notice of this meeting was given to the public at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting by forwarding the complete agenda to the official City newspaper, the New Richmond News, and to all news media who have requested the same as well as posting. Copies of the complete agenda were available for inspection at the City Clerk's office. Anyone desiring information as to forthcoming meetings should contact the City Clerk's office.

Roll call was taken.

Members Present: Mayor Schnitzler, Alderman Horne, Johnston, Dale-Wozniak, Hansen, and Volkert.

Members Absent: Alderman Zajkowski.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Alderman Johnston moved to adopt the agenda as presented, seconded by Alderman Horne and carried.

John Alley, Director of Transit from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation Transit Unit, sent the City a letter dated September 18, 2008 recommending that the City rebid the 2009 Shared Ride Taxi service. The goal of the rebid process was to secure a more competitive hourly rate that is reflective of the actual cost of the service. The WI DOT audited the 2005, 2006 and 2007 Pape Taxi Service records and identified significant costs that would have been disallowed under a negotiated contract. Alderman Horne moved to not exercise the renewal option for Pape Taxi Service for 2009, and rebid the Shared Ride Taxi Service for 2009, using the same number of hours of operation as were in 2008 and with the City contributing $30,000 towards the City share of the service, seconded by Alderman Hansen and carried. Alderman Dale-Wozniak voted no.

Alderman Horne moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Alderman Johnston and carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Joseph D. Bjelland,