Weather Forecast


Many parts of region on Earn-A-Buck list this year, on watch list for next

MADISON - The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources has tagged a good portion of the region as "Earn-A-Buck" zones for the upcoming fall deer hunt.

Areas in which the EAB requirement will be in place include the DNR's deer management unit 60M which covers western Pierce and St. Croix counties from Prescott north to Houlton and east to Highway 65 with Highway 64 as the northern boundary and Highway 29 as the southern boundary.

The DNR's deer management units 59B and 61 are also designated as EAB. This are includes portions of eastern Pierce County (from Highway 128 east) most of Dunn County and all of Pepin County.

A complete map of the DNR's 2006 deer management units is available online on the DNR Web site at A map has also been attached to this article.

The DNR says that these areas will also be on a watch list for earn-a-buck in 2007.

Hunters in 21 of the state's 130 deer management units will need to harvest an anterless deer before they can take a buck under the EAB rules.

However, DNR officials say many hunters may have already qualified if they registered an anterless deer from those units during last year's gun or archery deer seasons.

The DNR says that hunters can pre-qualify for the 2007 season if they take an anterless deer this year in one of the designated earn-a-buck units.

More information is available on the DNR's Web site at