Weather Forecast


Starr students receive presidential award

Fifth-graders at Starr Elementary were awarded the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence. Pictured above are (front, left to right): Myah Kopp, Zoe Christensen, Caleb Armstrong, Jade Berget, Claire Nilson, Erika Emerson, Ryan Affeldt and Josiah Hanson. (Back, left to right): Amy Baranowski, Dawson Grove, Nevaeh Brewer, Jessica Hagman, Jhette Gabriel, Jackson Seidling and Principal Andy Hoeppner. (Photo submitted)

Fourteen fifth-graders at Starr Elementary have been awarded the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence for maintaining an A-average GPA during the 2012-13 school year.

Ryan Affeldt, Caleb Armstrong, Amy Baranowski, Jade Berget, Nevaeh Brewer, Zoe Christensen, Erika Emerson, Jhette Gabriel, Dawson Grove, Jessica Hagman, Josiah Hanson, Myah Kopp, Claire Nilson and Jackson Seidling were issued awards, signed by President Barack Obama.

The President's Education Award is earned by maintaining a 3.5 grade average on a 4.0 scale. The student must also display high motivation, initiative, integrity, intellectual depth, leadership qualities and exceptional judgment. Finally, one or more of the student's teachers must recommend them.

Founded in 1983, the President's Education Awards Program honors graduating elementary, middle and high school students for their achievement and hard work. The program has provided individual recognition from the President and the U.S. Secretary of Education to those students whose outstanding efforts have enabled them to meet challenging standards of excellence. Each year, thousands of elementary, middle and high schools participate by recognizing deserving students.

Jeff Holmquist
Jeff Holmquist has been managing editor of the New Richmond News since 2004. He holds a bachelor's degree in journalism and business administration from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. He has previously worked as editor in Wadena, Minn.; Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Hutchinson, Minn.; and Bloomington, Minn. He also was previously owner of the Osceola Sun, Stillwater Courier and Scandia Messenger along with his wife. Together they previously founded and published The Old Times newspaper for antiques and collectibles collectors; and Up!, a Christian magazine of hope and encouragement.
(715) 243-7767 x241