Weather Forecast


NRHS forensic team enjoys success at state

The New Richmond High School forensics team performed well in soggy conditions on Friday, April 18, at the state competition held at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

With a team comprised of 24 entries and 26 total students at the competition, the team earned three Critic's Choice Awards, 14 All-State Awards for the second straight year, six Finalist Awards, and one Achievement Award.

On a 25-point scale in one round of competition, scoring 25 points results in a gold Critic's Choice Award, 23 to 24 points results in a silver All State Award, earning 20 to 23 points results in a bronze Finalist Award, and any score 19 or under receives an Achievement Award.

The following team members earned perfect Critic's Choice Awards: freshman Juliette Marth in Four Minute Speaking; senior Ashley Umlauf in Moments in History; and senior Emily Deiss in Prose.

The team also took home many All-State Awards, including the following: senior Anne Kuenzie in Four Minute Speaking; junior Maria Nelson in Moments in History; senior Kelsey Macomber in Oratory; junior Hai Nguyen in Oratory; senior Andrea Scheder in Public Address; freshman Katie Kaine in Special Occasion Speaking; senior Nikki Goodrich in Farrago; sophomore Krista Brusewitz in Farrago; sophomore Sarah Bygd in Farrago; senior Devin Graff in Farrago; sophomore Elise Deppe in Prose; sophomore Jackson Scott in Poetry; senior Lindsey Novitzke in Prose; freshman Valerie Bruner in Solo Acting.

Seniors Alex Campinini-Pape and Laura Maier took home a Finalist Award in Play Acting, as did seniors Carrie Hubler and Jessica Dahlquist in Play Acting; freshman Julia Barbian in Solo Acting; junior Julie Bruner in Oratory; sophomore Jenna Leahy in Four Minute Speaking; and junior Aaron Zimmerman in Moments in History.

Rounding out the award winners was sophomore Kendra Mitchell, who took home an Achievement Award.

Having won the Excellence in Speech Award in both 2006 and again in 2007, which identified the team as one of the top 20 schools out of nearly 400 participating schools, based on this year's scores, coaches Jeff Ayer and Danette Tellijohn believe the team again has a shot at the prestigious award.