Weather Forecast


NRHS forensics team advances 25 entries to state

The New Richmond High School forensic team continued a stellar season at its District Festival in Hudson on Saturday, March 28.

Between Saturday's competition and an alternate district held at New Richmond on March 19, with entries scoring 20 out of 25 possible evaluative points in at least two of three rounds, all 25 entries, which is the maximum number of entries allowed to advance, earned the honor to compete at UW-Madison on the evening of April 17.

What's more, like last season, 97 percent of the scores earned by the team were 20 or higher; and of the total 75 rounds of competition with all entries considered, just two rounds earned scores under 20.

Following three straight first place finishes in their tournament season, the team followed with an exclamatory statement, positioning themselves for an unheralded run at the team's fourth straight Excellence in Speech Award.

Individuals who advanced at Hudson included Juliette Marth and Nicole Lindberg in Prose; Kendra Mitchell in Poetry; Krista Brusewitz in Farrago; Val Bruner, Julia Barbian, and Jenna Goodrich in Solo Acting; Katie Kaine in Public Address; Ben Matthys in Special Occasion; Aaron Zimmerman in Moments in History; and Julie Bruner in Oratory.

The other half of the team, who had previously advanced on March 19, included Amanda Nichols and Patty Nelson in Radio Speaking; Carrie Palmer in Public Address; Hai Nguyen in Oratory; Maria Nelson and Bailey Matthys in Moments in History; Jenna Leahy in Four Minute; Angela Tenner in Extemporaneous Speaking; Shae Armstrong and Evan Baczynski in Demonstration; Jackson Scott and Ellen Junko in Prose; Graycee Lyndell in Solo Acting; and Sarah L'Allier in Storytelling.

The team will be practicing over the next three weeks to prepare for their date off the shores of Lake Mendota in Wisconsin's capital.

The goal is clear: Earn perfect gold scores of 25, and with such success, likewise earn the coveted Excellence in Speech Award. If the team were to earn the award, it would be an unprecedented fourth straight.