Weather Forecast


NRHS forensics team enjoys state success

The New Richmond High School forensics team performed well on Friday, April 17, at the state competition held at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

With a full team of 25 entries, the maximum a team can take, NRHS earned eight Critic's Choice Awards, nine All-State Awards and six Finalist Awards.

On a 25-point scale in one round of competition, scoring 25 points results in a gold Critic's Choice Award, 23 to 24 points results in a silver All-State Award, earning 20 to 22 points results in a bronze Finalist Award and any score 19 or under receives an Achievement Award. Not one student scored under 20.

The following team members earned perfect Critic's Choice Awards: senior Evan Baczynski in Demonstration Speaking; juniors Jackson Scott in Prose, Kendra Mitchell in Poetry and Jenna Goodrich in Solo Acting; sophomore Val Bruner in Solo Acting; and freshmen Ellen Junko in Prose, Shae Armstrong in Demonstration Speaking and Bailey Matthys in Moments in History.

The team also took home many All-State Awards, including the following: seniors Nicole Lindberg in Prose, Maria Nelson in Moments in History, Julie Bruner in Oratory and Ben Matthys in Special Occasion Speaking; juniors Jenna Leahy in Four Minute Speaking and Amanda Nichols in Radio Speaking; sophomore Graycee Lindell in Solo Acting; and freshmen Sarah L'Allier in Storytelling and Patty Nelson in Radio Speaking.

Senior Aaron Zimmerman also took home a Finalist Award in Moments in History, as did senior Hai Nguyen in Oratory; juniors Krista Brusewitz in Farrago and Carrie Palmer in Public Address; and sophomores Katie Kaine in Public Address, Juliette Marth in Prose, Julia Barbian in Solo Acting and Angela Tenner in Extemporaneous Speaking.

Having won the Excellence in Speech Award in 2006, 2007 and 2008, which identified the team as one of the top 20 schools out of roughly 400 participating schools, based on this year's scores, coaches Jeff Ayer and Danette Tellijohn are optimistic that the team could take home that prestigious award for the fourth straight year.