Weather Forecast


WESTconsin accepts applications for annual scholarship program

Students have until Thursday, Feb. 14, to submit applications for WESTconsin Credit Union's Scholarship Program.

The credit union is offering eleven, $1,000 scholarships to graduating high school seniors from the class of 2013.

The goal is to award one scholarship in each community served by a WESTconsin office, including Amery, Baldwin, Barron, Eau Claire, Hudson, Menomonie, New Richmond, Prescott, River Falls and Spring Valley. Scholarship recipients will be announced in May.

Online applications are accessible from WESTconsin's website,, and full instructions are provided on the application. Reminders:

• All application materials must be submitted online. No hard copies of application materials will be accepted.

• Students need to have been a primary account holder with WESTconsin Credit Union as of April 30, 2012 to be eligible for this year's program.

• Visit the 'Student $avers' tab at for more information.

WESTconsin has offered the Scholarship Program annually since 1995. To date, over $170,000 in scholarship funds have been awarded to local students from throughout west central Wisconsin assisting them in continuing their education. If there are questions regarding the program, please contact Melissa Schutz at or 715-235-3403, ext. 7772.

WESTconsin Credit Union has been serving members since 1939, and membership is open to anyone who lives or works in the Wisconsin counties of Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Trempealeau or Washburn, or the Minnesota counties of Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue or Washington, with a $5 minimum deposit in a Membership Savings Account. Credit unions are financial institutions owned by their accountholders, and member funds are federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) up to at least $250,000.