Weather Forecast


Ballots set for spring elections

There will be several contested municipal and school board races in the upcoming April 2 elections.

In New Richmond, incumbents Craig Kittel (District 1) and Roberta Dale-Wozniak (District 3) are the only candidates in their districts to have filed the necessary papers to get on the spring ballot.

In District 2, City Council newcomers Scottie Ard and Jay Jerome have filed their nomination papers. Incumbent Kirk Van Blaircom chose not to seek re-election.

In the Village of Somerset, only the four incumbents filed the necessary nomination papers. Village President Jeffrey Johnson, and trustees Robert Krueger, Bob Campbell and Greg Sayers are all seeking re-election to the Somerset Village Board.

In the Village of Hammond, Village President Tony Bibeau is seeking re-election but he will be challenged by current village trustee Erin McComb. Incumbent Doug Doll and challengers Michael Kamm, Laurie Gruber, Sandy Brecht and Lynn Pabst are running for the three open trustee seats.

In the Village of Roberts, incumbent President Willard Moeri will face off with challenger Peter Tharp in April. Three trustee positions will be on the ballot. Incumbents Katy Kapaun and Chuck Pizzi have submitted non-candidacy papers. Don Gerhardt, Mary Shemon and Scott Gerhardt have filed the necessary papers to get on the spring ballot.

Two open positions will be filled on the New Richmond School Board during the spring elections. Incumbents Neal Melby and Marty Wold are seeking a return to the board, but challengers Mark Struble, Esther Scott Wentz and Gene Mireau have also filed the necessary papers. Because there are five candidates in the race, a Feb. 19 primary election will be held to cut the field to four candidates.

There are two open spots on the Somerset School Board this April. Incumbent Tim Witzmann will not run for re-election. The other incumbent, Mike Connor, will square off against Nancy Dressel, Randy Wiederin and Tammie Wishard in the April 2 race.

The St. Croix Central School Board has two open seats as well. Incumbents Jeff Redmon and Kirk Lyksett, along with challenger Dana Cottrell, have submitted their candidacy papers for the election.

In the Town of Star Prairie, three positions will be filled by voters. Running for the open town chairman post are current town supervisors Scott Counter and Tom Heintz. Doug Rivard, the longtime chairman, is running for one of the two open trustee spots along with incumbent Steve Lewis and Gary Hanson.

In the Town of Richmond, a caucus was held Jan. 2 to determine the list of candidates for three open spots on the town board. Gary Knutson was the only nominee for the chairman post. Incumbent Richard Volkert, Jim Peirson and Shawn Demulling were nominated as the three candidates for two open supervisor seats.

In the Town of Somerset, incumbent Chairman Ed Schachtner and incumbent supervisors Douglas Plourde and Larry Rauch have all filed for re-election. No challengers have filed.

Caucuses will be held in several townships later in January.

The Village of Star Prairie was scheduled to conduct a caucus Wednesday, Jan. 9, to determine candidates. Up for election this spring are the positions currently held by Village President Greg Gibson and trustees Chris Boardman and Bruce A. Johnson.

Open seats in the Town of Cylon include Town Board Chairman Randy Zemke, supervisors Dennis Erickson and Kevin Derrick, Town Clerk Brenda Kaczmarski and Town Treasurer Lois Burri. The town's caucus is set for 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 15.

In the Town of Erin Prairie, the positions currently held by Chairman John Van Dyk, supervisors Dennis Mitchell and Mike Monteith, and Clerk-Treasurer Jackie Mitchell will be filled in April. Erin Prairie's caucus is set for 7 p.m. Monday, Jan. 21.

In the Town of Stanton, the positions currently held by Chairman Richard Hesselink, supervisors Gerald Croes and Steven Hoogheem, and Clerk-Treasurer Sharon Balcerek will be on the ballot.