Weather Forecast


Candidates identified for spring elections

Election season is upon us.

Ballots are set for the April 7 election in many area municipalities, and at least one municipality will have a primary on Feb. 17. Municipalities that use a caucus process to nominate candidates have until Jan. 27 to complete that process.

The following is a list of candidates whose names will appear on voters’ ballots.

City of New Richmond

The alderperson position is on the ballot for voters in districts 1, 2 and 3 in the City of New Richmond.

Incumbents Craig Kittel (District 1) and Scottie Ard (District 2) are running unopposed, but District 3 Alderman Jim Jackson will be challenged by Ken Krohn in a rematch of sorts. Jackson won a 3-2 council vote over Krohn to be appointed to the body in early September.  

Incumbent Municipal Judge Renee Keating will also be unopposed on the ballot.

Village of Hammond

The ballot in Hammond is so full that a Feb. 17 primary will be held for the village president race and for three village board positions.

Village President Tony Bibeau is facing challengers Erin McComb and Mounir Tber.

Eight candidates will be vying for three village trustee seats. Incumbent trustees Rob Ward and Laurie Gruber are facing challengers Sandy Brecht, Tony Endres, Jon Hodgson, Ron Kappers, Travis Myher and Kristy Olson. Incumbent Trustee Stan Kolakowski is not seeking re-election.

Village of Roberts

Roberts Village President Willard Moeri is facing a challenge from Peter Tharp, but in the trustee race there are fewer candidates than seats available on the Village Board. Trustee Scott Gerhardt is not seeking re-election, but both incumbent trustees Don Gerhardt and Mary Shemon will be on the ballot. Write-in candidates can file declaration of candidacy paperwork with Village Clerk Doreen Kruschke at Roberts Village Hall.

Village of Somerset

Village President Jeffrey Johnson is facing a challenge from John Melvin for the village’s executive seat.

There are four candidates vying for three seats on the Somerset Village Board. Incumbent trustees Robert Krueger, Bob Campbell and Greg Sayers will be on the ballot with challenger Ron Hill.

Municipal Judge Brad Nemec is running unopposed.

Town of Somerset

Leadership in the Town of Somerset will likely remain intact this spring as incumbent Town Chairperson Ed Schachtner, and incumbent supervisors Douglas Plourde and Larry Rauch will be running unopposed.

Town of Stanton

There are three seats up for election in Stanton, but only the incumbents will be on the ballot. They are Town Chairperson Richard Hesselink, and town supervisors, Gerald Croes and Steven Hoogheem.

Town of Star Prairie

In the Town of Star Prairie, Chairman Scott Counter is running unopposed, while incumbent Steve Lewis and newcomer Tom Heintz will be on the ballot for two town supervisor seats. Incumbent Supervisor Doug Rivard is not seeking re-election.

New Richmond School District

Two seats are up for election on the New Richmond School District Board of Education, and the two incumbents -- Richard Hinz and Lawrence Moore -- will be the only names on the ballot.

St. Croix Central School District

The St. Croix Central School District Board of Education will have a four-candidate race for three open seats. Incumbents Scott DeGross, Howard Kruschke and Kay Zwald will be on the ballot along with challenger Rebecca M. Soderstrom.

Somerset School District

Three incumbents on the Somerset School District Board of Education will face competition for their seats. Incumbents Brian Moulton, Kelly Ott and Tom Walters will be on the ballot with Nancy Dressel and Patty Schachtner for three board seats.

Caucus nominations

Several municipalities in the area handle their election nominations with a caucus process, including the Village of Deer Park, the Village of Star Prairie, the Town of Cylon, the Town of Erin Prairie, the Town of Hammond, the Town of Richmond, the Town of Saint Joseph, and the Town of Warren. Candidates for seats in those municipalities must be nominated by caucus attendees and then file candidacy paperwork with their municipal clerk. Early next month, the New Richmond News will publish a listing of candidates in these municipalities after all caucuses and candidacy paperwork have been completed.

State judicial seats

Voters in our area will also help decide two judicial races. District 3 Court of Appeals Judge Michael W. Hoover has decided to not run for re-election. Running for his seat are Kristina M. Bourget of Eau Claire and Mark A. Seidl of Wausau.

A seat on the highest court in our state is also on the line. Supreme Court Justice Ann W. Bradley will be challenged by James P. Daley of Janesville.

Micheal Foley
Micheal Foley worked at RiverTown Multimedia from July 2013 to June 2015 as editor at the New Richmond News. 
(715) 243-7767 x241