Weather Forecast


Who are the primary candidates on the ballot in Hammond?

A primary election will be held in the Village of Hammond on Tuesday, Feb. 17. Three residents are vying for the position of Village President and eight are on the ballot for three Village Trustee positions.

After the primary, the number of candidates on the ballot in the April 7 election will be narrowed down to two presidential candidates and six trustee candidates.

Current Trustee Stan Kolakowski, who was appointed to fill Mack Kamm’s seat in May when Kamm resigned due to “family obligations,” filed non-candidacy papers. Trustee incumbents Laurie Gruber and Rob Ward face competition from a few newcomers, including Tony Endres, Jon Hodgson, Travis Myher and Kristy Olson. Sandy Brecht, who was elected in the spring of 2013, but resigned in October 2014 due to alleged comments made in a closed session meeting threatening a resident’s life, has chosen to run again.

Ron Kappers will also make another run for a trustee position. Kappers ran for trustee in the 2012 primary, but was eliminated. He also ran for trustee in April 2014 and came in fourth. He put his name in the hat to be appointed when Kamm resigned, but Kolakowski was appointed instead.

Incumbent two-term Village President Tony Bibeau is facing competition from newcomer Mounir Tber and familiar face Erin McComb, who served as a trustee for two terms from 2009-2013. McComb also ran for Village President in 2013, but was defeated by Bibeau by six votes.

The New Richmond News sent questionnaires to candidates and their responses can be found by following these links:





Sarah Nigbor

Sarah J. Nigbor serves as a regional editor for RiverTown Multimedia, a position she began in April 2017. She joined RiverTown Multimedia in October 2013 as a news reporter for the New Richmond News, before being appointed editor of the Pierce County Herald in Febraury 2015. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Spanish and French in 2001. She completed a minor in journalism in 2004. 

(715) 273-4334