Weather Forecast


Tigers' Sabby is MVP in MBC boys hoops

The Middle Border Conference boys basketball co-champion New Richmond Tigers earned several of the top awards in the all-conference balloting for the 2008-09 season.

Tiger senior Derek Sabby was honored as the Middle Border Conference Most Valuable Player. Tiger coach Rick Montreal shares the MBC Coach of the Year honor with Osceola coach John Walsh.

Sabby was one of three Tiger seniors to be named to the all-MBC team. He was joined on the all-conference first team by Lance Bauer. John Peper was named as an honorable mention selection.

Somerset had two seniors named to the all-MBC team. David Moulton and Bryan Witzmann were both first team all-MBC choices.

Sabby earned the top MBC honor after a season where he stood out in all facets of the game. Sabby is an outstanding rebounder who adjusts well when the ball is in the air. He is a smart, patient defender. He was one of the leading scorers in the conference because he can score from anywhere on the offensive end of the court.

Bauer was a multi-faceted threat at guard for the Tigers. Bauer was equally adept at slashing to the basket or pulling up for a shot from the perimeter.

Peper was one of the top defenders in the conference this season, frustrating leading scorers from many opposing teams.

Witzmann and Moulton were the main offensive weapons on a young Somerset team this season. Witzmann was the most powerful post players in the conference. Moulton was one of the best perimeter shooters in the MBC this season.

This week the Spartans held their team banquet and coach Brent Larson announced these awards:

Most Dedicated: David Moulton

Passion Award: Jordan Hansen and Luke Buerkley

Unity Award: Rocky Larson

Humility Award: Phil Vanasse