Weather Forecast


Dozen St. Croix Central football players receive All-DSC honors

St. Croix Central football players who were named to the All-Dunn-St. Croix Conference team include (front, l-r) Jake Bonte, Jake Schweizer, Lauden Wood, Marcus Malecek and Tyler Lathe; (back) Kyle Aaby, Justin Kattre, Korey Jacobson, Cody Nyhagen, Michael Nelson, Carl Moll and D.J. Haas.

When you dominate a conference the way the St. Croix Central football team did this season, the justified recognition comes in the all-conference voting. Central was widely honored in the 2011 Dunn-St. Croix Conference balloting, with 12 members of the team receiving all-conference honors.

Panthers named to the first team All-DSC offensive unit included quarterback Carl Moll, running backs Korey Jacobson and Justin Kattre, receiver Cody Nyhagen, center Marcus Malecek and tackle Lauden Wood.

Nyhagen and Malecek were also named to the first team defense, with Malecek as a lineman and Nyhagen as a defensive back. Linebacker Michael Nelson and end Tyler Lathe were also first teamers on defense.

Junior offensive lineman Kyle Aaby was the only Panther named to the second team offense. Panthers placed on the second team defense were Wood at linebacker and Jake Bonte as a lineman.

Senior Jake Schweizer was selected as an honorable mention All-DSC lineman on offense and defense. Jacobson was selected as an honorable mention lineman and senior D.J. Haas was chosen as an honorable mention defensive back.

The Panthers' team banquet was held Tuesday night. Here are the 2011 team awards:

Most Valuable Player: (tie) Korey Jacobson and Cody Nyhagen

Scout Team Player of the Year: Chris Hedberg

Newcomer of the Year: Jordan Setzer

Best Defensive Player: Michael Nelson

Best Offensive Player: Carl Moll

The Panthers had one of the best offensive seasons in team history, rolling up 4,252 yards of offense. Moll passed for 1,929 yards on 146 completions. The ground attack accumulated 2,323 yards. Jacobson led the attack with 961 yards, followed by Kattre with 643, Moll with 394 and Nyhagen with 295.

Nyhagen was also the leading receiver with 42 catches for 819 yards and seven touchdowns. Ethan Lindahl finished with 29 catches and D.J. Haas with 25 catches.

Wood led the Panther defense with 122 tackles, followed by Nelson with 86, Nyhagen with 69 and Lathe with 67.

Dave Newman
Dave Newman has been the sports editor at the New Richmond News since 1988. He has covered the action in the Middle Border Conference, Dunn-St. Croix Conference and Big Rivers Conference for nearly 30 years.
(715) 243-7767 x242