Weather Forecast


Somerset, New Richmond well represented on Middle Border Conference football team

New Richmond's All-Middle Border Conference football players for 2011 include (l-r) Jake LaMirande, Pat Kletschka, Dalton Sabby, Taner Hoppe and Nate Jones.1 / 2
Somerset's all-conference football selections for 2011 include (l-r) Tyler Rosa, Haydon Dvorak, Ryan Himes, Reggie Larson, Derrek Tarter, Tyler Ledbeter, Austin Bushinger and Robbie Flom.2 / 2

The Somerset and New Richmond football teams are both well represented on the 2011 All-Middle Border Conference football team.

Somerset had eight players receive All-MBC honors and New Richmond had five players earn places on the team.

Somerset earned six spots on the first team offense and four more on the first team defense. Spartans who made the first team were quarterback Tyler Ledbeter, halfback Robbie Flom, tight end Ryan Himes and linemen Tyler Rosa, Reggie Larson and Derrek Tarter. Flom and Larson also made the first team defense, Flom as a back and Larson as a lineman. Senior Haydon Dvorak achieved a rarity, being named twice to the first team defense, as an inside linebacker and a punter.

Dvorak was the only Spartan on the second team offense, making the list as a running back. Spartans who made the second team defense were Ledbeter at cornerback, Tarter as a lineman and Austin Bushinger as a linebacker.

New Richmond didn't have any players named to the All-MBC first team. All the Tigers who were honored were placed on the second team. Seniors Dalton Sabby and Pat Kletchka were named on both sides of the ball. Sabby was named as a running back and defensive back, while Kletchka was honored for his play at center and defensive tackle.

Senior Nate Jones was honored for his play at linebacker. Two juniors were recognized for their play on offense. Fullback Taner Hoppe and lineman Jake LaMirande will be counted on as leaders for next season after receiving the honor this season.

The 2011 Tiger team awards were announced at the team's banquet last Thursday. Here are their team awards.

Most Valuable Player: Dalton Sabby

Offensive Player of the Year: Nate Jones

Defensive Player of the Year: Pat Kletchka

Lineman of the Year: Pat Kletchka

Hardest Hitter: Pat Kletchka

Most Improved: Ryan Keehr

Leading Tackler: Abe Anderson

Jones finished the season as the Tigers' leading rusher with 751 yards on 84 carries. Sabby finished with 624 yards and Hoppe 552 yards rushing.

Quarterback Drew Durham completed 23 of 62 passes for 345 yards and two touchdowns.

Sabby was the team's leading receiver, with 12 catches for 132 yards.

Kletchka and Anderson were the team's tackle leaders. Kletchka finished with 35 solo tackles and 45 assists. Anderson recorded 24 solo tackles and 50 assists. Among his tackles was a whopping 23 tackles for losses.

Dave Newman
Dave Newman has been the sports editor at the New Richmond News since 1988. He has covered the action in the Middle Border Conference, Dunn-St. Croix Conference and Big Rivers Conference for nearly 30 years.
(715) 243-7767 x242