Weather Forecast


Livestock judges compete at state 4-H event

A team from Iowa County took top honors in the senior division of the State 4-H Livestock Contest held July 21 at the Arlington Public Events Center.

These 4-H members will represent Wisconsin at the National 4-H Livestock Judging Contest, which will be held this fall in Louisville, Ky.

The second place senior team, which will represent Wisconsin at a contest in Kansas City or Denver was from Marathon County.

Eight senior teams and eight junior teams participated in the state contest, which consisted of evaluating classes of market and breeding beef, market and breeding swine and market and breeding sheep as well as answer questions and deliver reasons. These teams qualified for the state contest by being top teams at the district area animal science days that were held around the state in June.

The top ten senior individual judges: Devin Goehring, Columbia; Ty Bayer, Marathon; Kayla Greenwood, Iowa; Taylor Fritsch, Iowa; Calli Bayer, Marathon; Bailey Quam, Columbia; Tyler Tonkin, Iowa; Kelli Retallick, Grant; Amanda Patterson, Grant; and Koty Allen, St. Croix.

The top reasons team was Marathon County.

The top beef team was Marathon County and the top sheep team was Columbia County. The top swine team was Iowa County.

The top junior team was from Marathon County.

The top ten junior individual judges: Dathan Smerchek, Marathon; Andrea Patterson, Grant; Jacob Yelinek, Iowa; Billy Marshall, Richland; Alexus Butler, Dodge; Reid Suddeth, Iowa; Elizabeth Limberg, Sheboygan; Jake Adams, Grant; Kade Allen, St. Croix, and Eva Arndt, Dodge.

The top sheep team was Grant County, the top swine team was Iowa County, and the top beef team was Grant County. Top Reasons team was Marathon County.

Sponsors for the State 4-H Livestock contest include: The Milwaukee Stockyards, Wisconsin 4-H Foundation, Wisconsin Pork Association, UW-Extension, and UW Animal Science Departments.

Extension Youth Livestock Specialist Bernie O'Rourke and 4-H Youth Development Specialist Melanie Miller organize the contest annually.