Weather Forecast


Contests develop for 12 seats on St. Croix County Board

By the 5 p.m. filing deadline Tuesday, races had developed for 12 seats on the 19-member St. Croix County Board.

Because there are more than two candidates in three districts, those areas will also have primaries in February.

Redistricting after the 2010 Census left three districts with no incumbents and correspondingly another three districts with two incumbents.

These are the candidates as of the filing deadline, according to County Clerk Cindy Campbell:

--District 1: Incumbent Ryan Sicard, Somerset, is being challenged by Travis Schachtner, Somerset.

--District 2: Jay Griggs, rural Hudson, and Agnes Ring are both running in this district. Incumbent Linda Luckey, Houlton, filed a notification of non-candidacy.

--District 3: Dietmar Schlei, Hudson, and Timothy Hood, Hudson, are both candidates. Incumbent Robert Shearer, town of Hudson, filed a notification of non-candidacy.

--District 4: Incumbent Daryl Standafer, North Hudson, is being challenged by Howard Novotny.

--District 5: Incumbent Sharon Norton-Bauman, Hudson, is being challenged by Fred Yoerg.

--District 6: There are two incumbents in this district: Roger Rebholz, Hudson, and Clarence Malick, Hudson. Malick is seeking re-election. Rebholz is not.

--District 7: The only candidate is Chris Kilber, Hudson. There are no incumbents in this district.

--District 8: The only candidate is Richard Ottino, Hudson. Incumbent Steve Hermsen filed a notification of non-candidacy.

--District 9: The candidates for this Hudson-area district are Suzanne Van Mele and Thomas E. Hawksford. There are two incumbents in this district: Buzz Marzolf, town of Kinnickinnic, and Lorin Sather, River Falls. Both filed notifications of non-candidacy.

--District 10: Dave Ostness, River Falls, is running. There is no incumbent in this district.

--District 11: Incumbent Roger Larson, Star Prairie, is the only candidate.

--District 12: Incumbent Fred Horne, New Richmond, is the only candidate.

--District 13: The candidates are Ronald F. Kiesler, New Richmond, and Kristy Teske, New Richmond. Incumbent Esther Scott Wentz, New Richmond, filed a declaration of non-candidacy.

--District 14: There are three candidates in the district that includes the town of Richmond and Erin Prairie and part of the town of Warren. They are Jeff Dionisopoulos, Andrew J. Brinkman and Dennis Brunkhorst. There is no incumbent in this district.

--District 15: Incumbent Karen Meyer, Roberts, is being challenged by David Peterson, town of Kinnickinnic, and Donald Schumacher, rural Baldwin.

--District 16: Incumbent Joe Hurtgen, Woodville, is the lone candidate.

--District 17: This district has two incumbents: Alfred Schrank, Glenwood City, and Brian Hurtgen, Glenwood City. Both are running for re-election.

--District 18: There are four candidates in this district that includes the village of Baldwin and part of the town of Baldwin. The four are Phillip VanSomeren, Margaret L. Hinrichs, Duane Russett and Mike Bondarenko.

--District 19: Incumbent William Peavey, Woodville, is being challenged by Roger Bauer.

To see the new St. Croix districts, go to the county's website,, and click on "2012 County Supervisory Districts" on the right side of the page.

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.